Fence Permits & Regulations
Search local permit requirements, compare fence height limits, and download the full Same Day Fence permit quick-guide for Metro Atlanta service areas.
Permit Requirements
Vary by jurisdiction — some require permits for all fences, others only above certain heights
Height Limits
Front yards typically 4 ft; back/side yards 6–8 ft depending on the city or county
Corner Lots
Often have stricter rules due to sight visibility triangles at intersections
HOA Rules
May impose additional restrictions beyond city/county codes — always check first
Fence Permit & Height Quick-Guide (Same Day Fence Service Areas)
Note: Rules vary by zoning district, HOA, corner lots, overlays, and can change. Confirm with the local Building/Planning department before construction.
Confirmed rows (with public source links)
| Jurisdiction | Type | County(ies) | Permit required? | Front yard max height (by-right) | Back/Side yard max height (by-right) | Permit trigger height (if stated) | Variance / exception trigger (typical) | Notes | Source link(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta | City | Fulton & DeKalb | Yes (Fence permit via City of Atlanta Accela/ATL311) | 4 ft max in required front yard; must be ≥50% open | 6 ft max in side & rear yards | N/A on this page (permit is a 'Fence Permit') | Over stated height limits may require zoning relief / additional review | Corner lots and sight triangles can further reduce allowable height near intersections/driveways. | https://www.atl311.com/en-us/knowledgearticle/?code=KB0011817 |
| Alpharetta | City | Fulton | No permit if fence is ≤6 ft; permit/inspections if >6 ft | Up to 6 ft (city states residential fence height shall not exceed 6 ft) | Up to 6 ft (same) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft may require permit + inspections; zoning district rules may add constraints | Retaining walls >4 ft typically require permits/inspections (separate from fence). | https://www.alpharetta.ga.us/178/Construction-Inspections?contentId=15440062-872d-469f-9cb2-e0df9c127d85 ; https://www.alpharetta.ga.us/183/Planning-Zoning?contentId=1fe8bc09-7530-4727-8c96-eec808efa347 |
| Sandy Springs | City | Fulton | Yes (Fence & Wall Permit Application) | Opaque fence: 4 ft max in the front yard (picket/see-through designs may exceed 4 ft per form notes) | Opaque fence: up to 8 ft in other locations (per form) | Inspections required for fences over 7 ft (per form) | Over listed limits likely requires deviation/approval; walls ≥6 ft require engineer (per form) | Walls 6 ft+ require GA professional engineer certification; always confirm zoning overlays & easements. | https://up.sandyspringsga.gov/sites/default/files/2021-06/FencePermitApplication.pdf ; https://www.sandyspringsga.gov/building-permits-residential |
| Dunwoody | City | DeKalb | Fence permit required for new fence in front yard or on a corner lot (per city FAQ) | 4 ft max in street yard (by ordinance summary) | 8 ft max in interior side & rear yards (by ordinance summary) | Permit required for front yard/corner lot installs; stream buffer fences may require variance (per FAQ) | Taller fences or fences in regulated areas (stream buffer) may require variance/approval | Corner lot street-side yard rules can be stricter; always check sight visibility triangle. | https://www.dunwoodyga.gov/Home/Components/News/News/531/17 ; https://www.dunwoodyga.gov/government/departments/community-development/permits-inspections/permits-inspections-faqs |
| Gainesville | City | Hall | No permit required unless fence is over 6 ft (per city permit page) | Not specified on permit page (see Unified Land Development Code) | Not specified on permit page (see Unified Land Development Code) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft requires permit; zoning may require additional review for corner lots/visibility | City notes fences must still meet height/location/composition requirements (Code section referenced by city). | https://www.gainesville.org/704/Building-Permit |
| Marietta | City | Cobb | Most fences do NOT require a building permit (per City), but must meet zoning rules | Only 4-ft tall decorative fences allowed in the front yard (chain link not allowed) | General maximum: 8 ft (per city ordinance amendment language) | Fence construction generally exempt from building permit; zoning still applies | Over 8 ft likely requires zoning relief/approval | Fences must be at least 2 ft off public ROW; finished side outward; additional rules by street type & zoning. | https://www.mariettaga.gov/FAQ.aspx?QID=171 ; https://www.mariettaga.gov/1264/Fences ; https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/12224/1363204/pdf |
| Smyrna | City | Cobb | Not specified (check with City of Smyrna Community Development / Building Division) | 4 ft max in front & street-side yard setbacks; decorative/open fencing | Up to 8 ft max (unless noted otherwise in zoning) | Not specified (city-specific fence permit/building permit rules) | Any request to exceed height limits (e.g., >4 ft in front/street-side setback) typically needs zoning relief | Smyrna zoning defines a general 8-ft max fence height, with a 4-ft cap for front/street-side yard setbacks; corner lots/sight-distance rules can further restrict placement/height. | https://mcclibraryfunctions-stage.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/11505/986716/pdf ; https://library.municode.com/ga/smyrna/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_APXAZOOR_ARTIVDE_S402DEWOTE |
| Lawrenceville | City | Gwinnett | Permit required if fence exceeds 7 ft (per city page) | Not specified on permit page (confirm city code) | Not specified on permit page (confirm city code) | >7 ft | Over 7 ft requires permit; zoning/HOA may further restrict front-yard fences | If in unincorporated Gwinnett, county UDO often limits front to 4 ft (ornamental) and side/rear to 8 ft. | https://www.lawrencevillega.org/797/Types-of-Residential-Building-Permits |
| Hall County | County | Hall | Permit required only if backyard fence is over 7 ft (per County FAQ) | Not specified on FAQ (zoning rules may apply) | Not specified on FAQ (zoning rules may apply) | >7 ft (backyard fence) | Over 7 ft may require permit and potentially zoning review | City limits (e.g., Gainesville, Buford portion in Hall) may have different rules. | https://www.hallcounty.org/Faq.aspx?QID=368 |
| Gwinnett County | County | Gwinnett | Permit rule not stated on this guidance sheet (confirm) | Front yard (lots <3 acres): 4 ft max and must be ornamental/decorative | Side/rear: 8 ft max (per UDO summary in guidance) | Confirm with County permitting | Above stated heights likely needs approval/variance | Corner lots have two front yards; rules tighten near intersections/driveways. | https://www.gwinnettcounty.com/static/upload/pnd/Guidance/92/Fences_and_Landscape_or_Retaining_Walls.pdf |
| Cherokee County | County | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (per county) | Not specified in permit info (confirm zoning) | Not specified in permit info (confirm zoning) | >7 ft | Over 7 ft requires permit; zoning may require more review in front yards/corner lots | City limits (Canton, Woodstock) may have separate ordinances. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Paulding County | County | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (per county doc) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft requires permit; zoning may restrict front-yard fences | City limits (Dallas, Hiram) may have separate rules. | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences |
| Douglas County | County | Douglas | No building permit required for fences (per county FAQ) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | N/A | If zoning limits exceeded, may require zoning relief/variance | City limits (Douglasville, Villa Rica portion) may have separate ordinances. | https://www.douglascountyga.gov/faq.aspx?TID=41 |
| DeKalb County | County | DeKalb | Permit rule varies (confirm with DeKalb permitting/zoning) | Street-adjoining/perimeter fences often limited (example guidance: 6 ft along street-adjoining edges in some contexts) | Interior side/rear fences commonly up to 8 ft; variance may allow up to 10 ft (per technical guidance) | Not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with DeKalb permitting | Variance commonly needed above base limits (example: up to 10 ft mentioned in guidance) | Use as a starting point only; exact limits vary by zoning district, overlays, and whether fence is a perimeter fence for subdivisions. | https://www.dekalbcountyga.gov/sites/default/files/users/user312/TA%2009%20Fence%20and%20Wall%20Requirements.pdf |
| Cobb County | County | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm); height max noted in County Code | Front yard near public road ROW: up to 6 ft (per ordinance summary PDF—confirm by zoning district) | Max height 8 ft (per County Code section) | Not stated in cited county code summary; confirm with Cobb County | Variance/approval likely needed above 8 ft | Cities inside Cobb (Marietta, Smyrna, Kennesaw, etc.) can have stricter rules. | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 ; https://content.civicplus.com/api/assets/c22ec925-7681-4b20-a504-81f6913eb04f |
All service areas (verification needed for many rows)
| Jurisdiction | Type | County(ies) | Permit required? | Front yard max height (by-right) | Back/Side yard max height (by-right) | Permit trigger height (if stated) | Variance / exception trigger (typical) | Notes | Source link(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acworth | City | Cobb | No building permit typically required for residential fences when compliant (confirm special cases) | 4 ft max (within required front yard / street-side yard setback) | 8 ft max (typical residential by-right) | Not stated | If requesting height over limits in required yard/setback or on corner lots—seek zoning relief/approval | City Code Compliance guide summarizes common residential limits; confirm if property is in city limits and whether any overlay/HOA applies. | https://acworth-ga.gov/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/fencesCodeCompliance.pdf |
| Adairsville | City | Bartow | Refer to Bartow County zoning ordinance; city limits may differ. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured | As required by ordinance/board of appeals | https://cms2files.revize.com/bartowga/ordinance%20updated%20thru%2011-04-20.pdf | |
| Alpharetta | City | Fulton | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Atlanta | City | Fulton & DeKalb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Buford | City | Gwinnett & Hall | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | City spans Gwinnett & Hall; confirm which jurisdiction governs your address. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buford,_Georgia |
| Canton | City | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (county FAQ). | Common Cherokee County guidance: 6 ft max in front yard (confirm for City of Canton) | Common Cherokee County guidance: 8 ft max side/rear (confirm for City of Canton) | Cherokee County: permit required if >7 ft (confirm for city limits) | Above height limits or in setbacks/sight triangles may require variance/approval | If the property is inside Canton city limits, confirm the City’s zoning/fence rules; county guidance applies to unincorporated areas. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Cartersville | City | Bartow | Refer to Bartow County zoning ordinance; city limits may differ. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured | As required by ordinance/board of appeals | https://cms2files.revize.com/bartowga/ordinance%20updated%20thru%2011-04-20.pdf | |
| Chamblee | City | DeKalb | Yes (Fence permit application required) | 4 ft max (front yard / street-side on corner lots) | 8 ft max (side & rear yards) | Fence permit required (application-based) | Any request to exceed height limits or encroach into required setbacks typically requires approval/relief | Chamblee fence permit application states height limits; always confirm easements, ROW, and corner visibility triangles. | https://chambleega.com/DocumentCenter/View/190/Fence-Permit-Application-PDF?bidId= |
| College Park | City | Fulton & Clayton | Yes (Building Permit required for installation of a fence) | 4 ft max in required front yard & side street yard (decorative/ornamental or specified materials) | 6 ft max in other locations (per zoning ordinance) | Fence installation requires building permit (per zoning ordinance) | If requesting taller than limits (e.g., >4 ft in street yards, >6 ft elsewhere) — variance/approval | College Park zoning ordinance includes fence material/type rules in addition to height; confirm zoning district and any TOD overlay for your site. | https://www.collegeparkga.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_11492833/File/Departments/Planning%20and%20Growth/Adopted%20College%20Park%20Zoning%20Ordinance%20with%20TOD%20.pdf ; https://library.municode.com/ga/college_park/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_APXAZO_ART6DEST |
| Cumming | City | Forsyth | Building permits required for fences/walls over 6 ft (county code). | 48 in (4 ft) max in front yard (county code). | 8 ft max in side & rear yards (county code). | >6 ft | Above limits requires zoning relief/approval | https://forsythcounty-ga.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_arti_artiv_sec16-4.12 | |
| Dallas | City | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (county doc). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | >6 ft | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences | |
| Douglasville | City | Douglas | No building permit required for fences (county FAQ). | Not specified in county FAQ (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county FAQ (confirm zoning). | N/A | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.douglascountyga.gov/faq.aspx?TID=41 | |
| Duluth | City | Gwinnett | Permit required for fences in front yards and for fences over 7 ft (per City brochure; confirm current) | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | >7 ft, and front-yard fences (per brochure) | Over allowed heights or in regulated areas (corner lots/visibility/easements) may require approval | City brochure focuses on permit triggers; confirm exact height limits in the Unified Development Code (UDC). | https://www.duluthga.net/DocumentCenter/View/463/Code-Compliance-Brochure-Fences-and-Walls?bidId= |
| Dunwoody | City | DeKalb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| East Point | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Ellenwood | Unincorporated community | Clayton, DeKalb, Henry & Rockdale | county rules apply unless inside a city | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Ellenwood is not incorporated; rules depend on which county + any city limits. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ellenwood,_Georgia |
| Fairburn | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Gainesville | City | Hall | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://www.hallcounty.org/Faq.aspx?QID=368 | |
| Hiram | City | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (county doc). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | >6 ft | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences | |
| Kennesaw | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Lawrenceville | City | Gwinnett | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Lilburn | City | Gwinnett | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Mableton | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | Mableton incorporated recently; confirm current municipal code + permitting. | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 |
| Marietta | City | Cobb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Norcross | City | Gwinnett | Yes (Fence permit required) | 4 ft max in required front yard / street yard (decorative/open fencing) | 8 ft max in side & rear yards (typical) | Fence permit required (application-based) | If requesting height over limits (e.g., >4 ft in street yard or >8 ft elsewhere) — approval/relief | Norcross ordinance and permit checklist provide fence height guidance; confirm corner-lot visibility and easements. | https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/12158/1400924/pdf ; https://www.norcrossga.net/departments/community-development/building/permits-checklists-and-inspections |
| Powder Springs | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Redan | Unincorporated community | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| Roswell | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Sandy Springs | City | Fulton | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Smyrna | City | Cobb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Stone Mountain | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| Suwanee | City | Gwinnett | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Union City | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Villa Rica | City | Carroll & Douglas | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | City spans Carroll & Douglas; confirm which county + city limits for your address. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Villa_Rica,_Georgia |
| Vinings | Unincorporated community | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Woodstock | City | Cherokee | Often depends on whether you are inside city limits vs unincorporated Cherokee; confirm | Common guidance: up to 6 ft in front yards (Cherokee County); confirm City of Woodstock rules | Common guidance: up to 8 ft in side/rear (Cherokee County); confirm City of Woodstock rules | Cherokee County: permit required if >7 ft (confirm for city limits) | Above height limits or in setbacks/sight triangles may require variance/approval | Woodstock is in Cherokee County; city limits may have separate rules from unincorporated county guidance. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Brookhaven | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | city limits vs DeKalb County; confirm with City of Brookhaven Community Development. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Tucker | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | with City of Tucker; corner-lot visibility and rights-of-way often matter. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Lithonia | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | with City of Lithonia; some addresses use unincorporated DeKalb rules. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Holly Springs | City | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (county FAQ). | Adjacent to public road & within setback: 6 ft max (county FAQ). | 8 ft max (county FAQ). | >7 ft | Above limits or in ROW/sight triangle requires approval/variance | with City of Holly Springs; compare to Cherokee County when outside city limits. | https://www.cherokeecountyga.gov/zoning/Frequently-Asked-Questions/Fences/ |
| Decatur | City | DeKalb | Yes (Fence Permit required) | 4 ft max in front yard | 6 ft max in side & rear yards | Fence permit required (application-based) | Any request to exceed height limits typically requires zoning relief/approval | Decatur requires permits and provides a fence permit guidance document; confirm corner-lot and visibility requirements. | https://www.decaturga.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/community_development/page/229/fence_permits.pdf |
Jurisdiction Lookup
Search for your city or county to find permit requirements and height limits.
| Jurisdiction | Type | County | Permit Required? | Front Yard Max | Back/Side Max |
|---|
Fence Permit & Height Quick-Guide (Same Day Fence Service Areas)
Note: Rules vary by zoning district, HOA, corner lots, overlays, and can change. Confirm with the local Building/Planning department before construction.
Confirmed rows (with public source links)
| Jurisdiction | Type | County(ies) | Permit required? | Front yard max height (by-right) | Back/Side yard max height (by-right) | Permit trigger height (if stated) | Variance / exception trigger (typical) | Notes | Source link(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta | City | Fulton & DeKalb (multi-county) | Yes (Fence permit via City of Atlanta Accela/ATL311) | 4 ft max in required front yard; must be ≥50% open | 6 ft max in side & rear yards | N/A on this page (permit is a 'Fence Permit') | Over stated height limits may require zoning relief / additional review | Corner lots and sight triangles can further reduce allowable height near intersections/driveways. | https://www.atl311.com/en-us/knowledgearticle/?code=KB0011817 |
| Alpharetta | City | Fulton | No permit if fence is ≤6 ft; permit/inspections if >6 ft | Up to 6 ft (city states residential fence height shall not exceed 6 ft) | Up to 6 ft (same) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft may require permit + inspections; zoning district rules may add constraints | Retaining walls >4 ft typically require permits/inspections (separate from fence). | https://www.alpharetta.ga.us/178/Construction-Inspections?contentId=15440062-872d-469f-9cb2-e0df9c127d85 ; https://www.alpharetta.ga.us/183/Planning-Zoning?contentId=1fe8bc09-7530-4727-8c96-eec808efa347 |
| Sandy Springs | City | Fulton | Yes (Fence & Wall Permit Application) | Opaque fence: 4 ft max in the front yard (picket/see-through designs may exceed 4 ft per form notes) | Opaque fence: up to 8 ft in other locations (per form) | Inspections required for fences over 7 ft (per form) | Over listed limits likely requires deviation/approval; walls ≥6 ft require engineer (per form) | Walls 6 ft+ require GA professional engineer certification; always confirm zoning overlays & easements. | https://up.sandyspringsga.gov/sites/default/files/2021-06/FencePermitApplication.pdf ; https://www.sandyspringsga.gov/building-permits-residential |
| Dunwoody | City | DeKalb | Fence permit required for new fence in front yard or on a corner lot (per city FAQ) | 4 ft max in street yard (by ordinance summary) | 8 ft max in interior side & rear yards (by ordinance summary) | Permit required for front yard/corner lot installs; stream buffer fences may require variance (per FAQ) | Taller fences or fences in regulated areas (stream buffer) may require variance/approval | Corner lot street-side yard rules can be stricter; always check sight visibility triangle. | https://www.dunwoodyga.gov/Home/Components/News/News/531/17 ; https://www.dunwoodyga.gov/government/departments/community-development/permits-inspections/permits-inspections-faqs |
| Gainesville | City | Hall | No permit required unless fence is over 6 ft (per city permit page) | Not specified on permit page (see Unified Land Development Code) | Not specified on permit page (see Unified Land Development Code) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft requires permit; zoning may require additional review for corner lots/visibility | City notes fences must still meet height/location/composition requirements (Code section referenced by city). | https://www.gainesville.org/704/Building-Permit |
| Marietta | City | Cobb | Most fences do NOT require a building permit (per City), but must meet zoning rules | Only 4-ft tall decorative fences allowed in the front yard (chain link not allowed) | General maximum: 8 ft (per city ordinance amendment language) | Fence construction generally exempt from building permit; zoning still applies | Over 8 ft likely requires zoning relief/approval | Fences must be at least 2 ft off public ROW; finished side outward; additional rules by street type & zoning. | https://www.mariettaga.gov/FAQ.aspx?QID=171 ; https://www.mariettaga.gov/1264/Fences ; https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/12224/1363204/pdf |
| Smyrna | City | Cobb | Not specified (check with City of Smyrna Community Development / Building Division) | 4 ft max in front & street-side yard setbacks; decorative/open fencing | Up to 8 ft max (unless noted otherwise in zoning) | Not specified (city-specific fence permit/building permit rules) | Any request to exceed height limits (e.g., >4 ft in front/street-side setback) typically needs zoning relief | Smyrna zoning defines a general 8-ft max fence height, with a 4-ft cap for front/street-side yard setbacks; corner lots/sight-distance rules can further restrict placement/height. | https://mcclibraryfunctions-stage.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/11505/986716/pdf ; https://library.municode.com/ga/smyrna/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_APXAZOOR_ARTIVDE_S402DEWOTE |
| Lawrenceville | City | Gwinnett | Permit required if fence exceeds 7 ft (per city page) | Not specified on permit page (confirm city code) | Not specified on permit page (confirm city code) | >7 ft | Over 7 ft requires permit; zoning/HOA may further restrict front-yard fences | If in unincorporated Gwinnett, county UDO often limits front to 4 ft (ornamental) and side/rear to 8 ft. | https://www.lawrencevillega.org/797/Types-of-Residential-Building-Permits |
| Hall County (Unincorporated) | County | Hall | Permit required only if backyard fence is over 7 ft (per County FAQ) | Not specified on FAQ (zoning rules may apply) | Not specified on FAQ (zoning rules may apply) | >7 ft (backyard fence) | Over 7 ft may require permit and potentially zoning review | City limits (e.g., Gainesville, Buford portion in Hall) may have different rules. | https://www.hallcounty.org/Faq.aspx?QID=368 |
| Gwinnett County (Unincorporated) | County | Gwinnett | Permit rule not stated on this guidance sheet (confirm) | Front yard (lots <3 acres): 4 ft max and must be ornamental/decorative | Side/rear: 8 ft max (per UDO summary in guidance) | Confirm with County permitting | Above stated heights likely needs approval/variance | Corner lots have two front yards; rules tighten near intersections/driveways. | https://www.gwinnettcounty.com/static/upload/pnd/Guidance/92/Fences_and_Landscape_or_Retaining_Walls.pdf |
| Cherokee County (Unincorporated) | County | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (per county) | Not specified in permit info (confirm zoning) | Not specified in permit info (confirm zoning) | >7 ft | Over 7 ft requires permit; zoning may require more review in front yards/corner lots | City limits (Canton, Woodstock) may have separate ordinances. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Paulding County (Unincorporated) | County | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (per county doc) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | >6 ft | Over 6 ft requires permit; zoning may restrict front-yard fences | City limits (Dallas, Hiram) may have separate rules. | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences |
| Douglas County (Unincorporated) | County | Douglas | No building permit required for fences (per county FAQ) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | Not specified (confirm zoning) | N/A | If zoning limits exceeded, may require zoning relief/variance | City limits (Douglasville, Villa Rica portion) may have separate ordinances. | https://www.douglascountyga.gov/faq.aspx?TID=41 |
| DeKalb County (Unincorporated) | County | DeKalb | Permit rule varies (confirm with DeKalb permitting/zoning) | Street-adjoining/perimeter fences often limited (example guidance: 6 ft along street-adjoining edges in some contexts) | Interior side/rear fences commonly up to 8 ft; variance may allow up to 10 ft (per technical guidance) | Not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with DeKalb permitting | Variance commonly needed above base limits (example: up to 10 ft mentioned in guidance) | Use as a starting point only; exact limits vary by zoning district, overlays, and whether fence is a perimeter fence for subdivisions. | https://www.dekalbcountyga.gov/sites/default/files/users/user312/TA%2009%20Fence%20and%20Wall%20Requirements.pdf |
| Cobb County (Unincorporated) | County | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm); height max noted in County Code | Front yard near public road ROW: up to 6 ft (per ordinance summary PDF—confirm by zoning district) | Max height 8 ft (per County Code section) | Not stated in cited county code summary; confirm with Cobb County | Variance/approval likely needed above 8 ft | Cities inside Cobb (Marietta, Smyrna, Kennesaw, etc.) can have stricter rules. | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 ; https://content.civicplus.com/api/assets/c22ec925-7681-4b20-a504-81f6913eb04f |
All service areas (verification needed for many rows)
| Jurisdiction | Type | County(ies) | Permit required? | Front yard max height (by-right) | Back/Side yard max height (by-right) | Permit trigger height (if stated) | Variance / exception trigger (typical) | Notes | Source link(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acworth | City | Cobb | No building permit typically required for residential fences when compliant (confirm special cases) | 4 ft max (within required front yard / street-side yard setback) | 8 ft max (typical residential by-right) | Not stated | If requesting height over limits in required yard/setback or on corner lots—seek zoning relief/approval | City Code Compliance guide summarizes common residential limits; confirm if property is in city limits and whether any overlay/HOA applies. | https://acworth-ga.gov/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/fencesCodeCompliance.pdf |
| Adairsville | City | Bartow | Refer to Bartow County zoning ordinance; city limits may differ. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured | As required by ordinance/board of appeals | https://cms2files.revize.com/bartowga/ordinance%20updated%20thru%2011-04-20.pdf | |
| Alpharetta | City | Fulton | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Atlanta | City | Fulton & DeKalb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Buford | City | Gwinnett & Hall | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | City spans Gwinnett & Hall; confirm which jurisdiction governs your address. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buford,_Georgia |
| Canton | City | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (county FAQ). | Common Cherokee County guidance: 6 ft max in front yard (confirm for City of Canton) | Common Cherokee County guidance: 8 ft max side/rear (confirm for City of Canton) | Cherokee County: permit required if >7 ft (confirm for city limits) | Above height limits or in setbacks/sight triangles may require variance/approval | If the property is inside Canton city limits, confirm the City’s zoning/fence rules; county guidance applies to unincorporated areas. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Cartersville | City | Bartow | Refer to Bartow County zoning ordinance; city limits may differ. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured here—consult ordinance. | Not captured | As required by ordinance/board of appeals | https://cms2files.revize.com/bartowga/ordinance%20updated%20thru%2011-04-20.pdf | |
| Chamblee | City | DeKalb | Yes (Fence permit application required) | 4 ft max (front yard / street-side on corner lots) | 8 ft max (side & rear yards) | Fence permit required (application-based) | Any request to exceed height limits or encroach into required setbacks typically requires approval/relief | Chamblee fence permit application states height limits; always confirm easements, ROW, and corner visibility triangles. | https://chambleega.com/DocumentCenter/View/190/Fence-Permit-Application-PDF?bidId= |
| College Park | City | Fulton & Clayton | Yes (Building Permit required for installation of a fence) | 4 ft max in required front yard & side street yard (decorative/ornamental or specified materials) | 6 ft max in other locations (per zoning ordinance) | Fence installation requires building permit (per zoning ordinance) | If requesting taller than limits (e.g., >4 ft in street yards, >6 ft elsewhere) — variance/approval | College Park zoning ordinance includes fence material/type rules in addition to height; confirm zoning district and any TOD overlay for your site. | https://www.collegeparkga.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_11492833/File/Departments/Planning%20and%20Growth/Adopted%20College%20Park%20Zoning%20Ordinance%20with%20TOD%20.pdf ; https://library.municode.com/ga/college_park/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_APXAZO_ART6DEST |
| Cumming | City | Forsyth | Building permits required for fences/walls over 6 ft (county code). | 48 in (4 ft) max in front yard (county code). | 8 ft max in side & rear yards (county code). | >6 ft | Above limits requires zoning relief/approval | https://forsythcounty-ga.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_arti_artiv_sec16-4.12 | |
| Dallas | City | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (county doc). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | >6 ft | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences | |
| Douglasville | City | Douglas | No building permit required for fences (county FAQ). | Not specified in county FAQ (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county FAQ (confirm zoning). | N/A | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.douglascountyga.gov/faq.aspx?TID=41 | |
| Duluth | City | Gwinnett | Permit required for fences in front yards and for fences over 7 ft (per City brochure; confirm current) | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | >7 ft, and front-yard fences (per brochure) | Over allowed heights or in regulated areas (corner lots/visibility/easements) may require approval | City brochure focuses on permit triggers; confirm exact height limits in the Unified Development Code (UDC). | https://www.duluthga.net/DocumentCenter/View/463/Code-Compliance-Brochure-Fences-and-Walls?bidId= |
| Dunwoody | City | DeKalb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| East Point | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Ellenwood | Unincorporated community | Clayton, DeKalb, Henry & Rockdale | county rules apply unless inside a city | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Ellenwood is not incorporated; rules depend on which county + any city limits. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ellenwood,_Georgia |
| Fairburn | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Gainesville | City | Hall | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://www.hallcounty.org/Faq.aspx?QID=368 | |
| Hiram | City | Paulding | No permit needed if fence is ≤6 ft; permit required if >6 ft (county doc). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | Not specified in county doc (confirm zoning). | >6 ft | If zoning limits exceeded, may require approval/variance | https://www.paulding.gov/DocumentCenter/View/11773/Fences | |
| Kennesaw | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Lawrenceville | City | Gwinnett | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Lilburn | City | Gwinnett | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Mableton | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | Mableton incorporated recently; confirm current municipal code + permitting. | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 |
| Marietta | City | Cobb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Norcross | City | Gwinnett | Yes (Fence permit required) | 4 ft max in required front yard / street yard (decorative/open fencing) | 8 ft max in side & rear yards (typical) | Fence permit required (application-based) | If requesting height over limits (e.g., >4 ft in street yard or >8 ft elsewhere) — approval/relief | Norcross ordinance and permit checklist provide fence height guidance; confirm corner-lot visibility and easements. | https://mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us/api/ordinanceDownload/12158/1400924/pdf ; https://www.norcrossga.net/departments/community-development/building/permits-checklists-and-inspections |
| Powder Springs | City | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Redan | Unincorporated community | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| Roswell | City | Fulton (primarily) | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Sandy Springs | City | Fulton | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | ||
| Smyrna | City | Cobb | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | See row above | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Stone Mountain | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 | |
| Suwanee | City | Gwinnett | Permit requirement not stated in cited UDO section; confirm with county/city. | Lots <3 acres: 4 ft max in required front yard and must be ornamental/decorative (UDO). | 8 ft max (UDO). | Not stated | Above limits or in required yard/setback may require approval/variance | https://gwinnettcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_apxa_ch230_sec230-80 | |
| Union City | City | Fulton | Not specified here—consult City permitting/zoning. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified here—consult City code. | Not specified | As required by City zoning/board of appeals | ||
| Villa Rica | City | Carroll & Douglas | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | Not specified here—confirm with local permitting/zoning | City spans Carroll & Douglas; confirm which county + city limits for your address. | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Villa_Rica,_Georgia |
| Vinings | Unincorporated community | Cobb | Permit rule varies (confirm with county/city); fence height limits in county code. | Up to 6 ft near public road ROW (county summary). | 8 ft max (county summary). | Not stated | Above 8 ft likely requires variance/approval | https://cobbcounty.elaws.us/code/coor_ch134_artvii_sec134-267 | |
| Woodstock | City | Cherokee | Often depends on whether you are inside city limits vs unincorporated Cherokee; confirm | Common guidance: up to 6 ft in front yards (Cherokee County); confirm City of Woodstock rules | Common guidance: up to 8 ft in side/rear (Cherokee County); confirm City of Woodstock rules | Cherokee County: permit required if >7 ft (confirm for city limits) | Above height limits or in setbacks/sight triangles may require variance/approval | Woodstock is in Cherokee County; city limits may have separate rules from unincorporated county guidance. | https://cherokeecountyga.gov/building-safety/fences/ |
| Brookhaven | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | city limits vs DeKalb County; confirm with City of Brookhaven Community Development. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Tucker | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | with City of Tucker; corner-lot visibility and rights-of-way often matter. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Lithonia | City | DeKalb | Permit requirement not stated in cited zoning section; confirm with county/city. | 4 ft max in front yard (code section). | 6 ft max in side & rear yards (code section). | Not stated | Above limits or in regulated areas requires approval/variance | with City of Lithonia; some addresses use unincorporated DeKalb rules. | https://library.municode.com/ga/dekalb_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CODECO_CH27ZO_ART3OVDIRE_27-3.37_DIVISION_37GRHIHIOVDI_S3.37.11SPPETI2 |
| Holly Springs | City | Cherokee | Permit not required if fence is ≤7 ft; permit required if >7 ft (county FAQ). | Adjacent to public road & within setback: 6 ft max (county FAQ). | 8 ft max (county FAQ). | >7 ft | Above limits or in ROW/sight triangle requires approval/variance | with City of Holly Springs; compare to Cherokee County when outside city limits. | https://www.cherokeecountyga.gov/zoning/Frequently-Asked-Questions/Fences/ |
| Decatur | City | DeKalb | Yes (Fence Permit required) | 4 ft max in front yard | 6 ft max in side & rear yards | Fence permit required (application-based) | Any request to exceed height limits typically requires zoning relief/approval | Decatur requires permits and provides a fence permit guidance document; confirm corner-lot and visibility requirements. | https://www.decaturga.com/sites/default/files/fileattachments/community_development/page/229/fence_permits.pdf |
Detailed Jurisdiction Info
Expand any jurisdiction below to see full permit trigger, variance, and notes details.
Ready to Get Started?
Get expert guidance, transparent pricing, and professional installation. Contact Same Day Fence today for your free, no-obligation estimate.